Decentralised agencies carry out technical, scientific or managerial tasks that help the EU institutions make and implement policies.

They also support cooperation between the EU and national governments by pooling technical and specialist expertise from both the EU institutions and national authorities.

Decentralised agencies are set up for an indefinite period and are located across the EU.

For a summary about each of them, please use the search function.

  • Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER)
  • Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)
  • Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO)
  • European Agency for Safzety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA)
  • European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders (FRONTEX)
  • European Agency for the operational management of large-scale IT systems in the area of freedom, security and justice (eu-LISA)
  • European Asylum Support Office (EASO)
  • European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
  • European Banking Authority (EBA)
  • European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)
  • European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP)
  • European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
  • European Environment Agency (EEA)
  • European Fisheries Control Agency (EFCA)
  • European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)
  • European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (EUROFOUND)
  • European GNSS Agency (GSA)
  • European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE)
  • European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA)
  • European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)
  • European Medicines Agency (EMA)
  • European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA)
  • European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA)
  • European Policy College (CEPOL)
  • European Police Office (EUROPOL)
  • European Public Prosecutor's Office (in preparation) (EPPO)
  • European Railway Agency (ERA)
  • European Securities and Market Authority (ESMA)
  • European Training Foundation (ETF)
  • European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA)
  • Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market (OHIM)
  • Single Resolution Board (SRB)
  • The European Union's Judicial Cooperation Unit (EUROJUST)
  • Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union (CdT)
  • European Defence Agency (EDA)
  • European Union Institute for Security Studies (EUISS)
  • European Union Satellite Centre (Satcen)

Add new comment