1. Afghanistan (All Airlines)
  2. Angola (All Airlines except TAAG Angola Airlines, Heli Malongo Airways)
  3. Armenia (All Airlines)
  4. Belarus (All Airlines)
  5. Democratic Reublic of the Congo (All Airlines)
  6. Republic of the Congo (All Airlines)
  7. Djibouti (All Airlines)
  8. Equatorial Guinea (All Airlines except CEIBA Intercontinental)
  9. Eritrea (All Airlines)
  10. Iran (Iran Aseman Airlines; Iran Air is subject to restrictions)
  11. Iraq (Iraqi Airways)
  12. Kyrgyzstan (All Airlines)
  13. Liberia (All Airlines)
  14. Libya (All Airlines)
  15. Moldova (All Airlines except Air Moldova, Flyone, Aerotranscargo)
  16. Nepal (All Airlines)
  17. North Korea (Air Koryo)
  18. Sao Tome and Principe (All Airlines)
  19. Sierra Leone (All Airlines)
  20. Suriname (Blue Wing Airlines)
  21. Venezuela (Avior Airlines)
  22. Zimbabwe (Air Zimbabwe)


On 02 June 2021, the European Commission updated the EU Air Safety List, the list of airlines that are subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union as they do not meet international safety standards. Ensuring the highest level of air safety for Europeans and all other passengers travelling in the European Union is at the very heart of the Commission’s aviation safety policy. No new proposals for lifting or inclusion into the EU Air Safety List have been adopted, but there have been a number of technical adaptations. In particular, carriers which no longer exist were removed to include the new air carriers recently certified by national aviation authorities from countries that are subject to a ban.

The EU Air Safety List not only helps to maintain high levels of safety in the EU, but also helps affected airlines and countries to improve their levels of safety, in order for them to eventually be taken off the list. In addition, the EU Air Safety List has become a major preventive tool, as it motivates countries with safety problems to act upon them before a ban under the EU Air Safety List would become necessary.

Following the  update, a total of 103 airlines are banned from EU skies:

  • 97 airlines certified in 16 states, due to inadequate safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states;
  • Six individual airlines, based on serious safety deficiencies identified: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

An additional three airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).



Add new comment