President-elect Ursula von der Leyen 

The new College will have eight Vice-Presidents, including the High-Representative of the Union for Foreign Policy and Security Policy (Josep Borrell). The Vice-Presidents are responsible for the top priorities in the Political Guidelines.  

Three Executive Vice-Presidents will have a double function. They will be both Vice-President responsible for one of three core topics of the President-elect's agenda and Commissioners.

  1. Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) will coordinate the work on the European Green Deal. He will also manage climate action policy, supported by the Directorate-General for Climate Action.
  2. Executive Vice-President Margrethe Vestager (Denmark) will coordinate the  whole agenda on a Europe fit for the digital age and be the Commissioner for Competition, supported by the Directorate-General for Competition.
  3. Executive Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia) will coordinate the work on an Economy that Works for People and be the Commissioner for financial services, supported by the Directorate-General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union.

The five other Vice-Presidents are:

  1. Josep Borrell (Spain) HR/VP-designate, A Stronger Europe in the World
  2. Věra Jourová (Czech Republic), Values and Transparency
  3. Margaritis Schinas (Greece) Protecting our European Way of Life
  4. Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia) Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight
  5. Dubravka Šuica (Croatia) Democracy and Demography. Dubravka Šuica will also lead, from the Commission side, the work on the Conference on the Future of Europe.

The other Commissioners-designate are as follows

  1. Johannes Hahn (Austria) will be in charge of ‘Budget and Administration', and will report directly to Commission President Ursula von der Leyen.
  2.  Didier Reynders (Belgium) will be responsible for ‘Justice' (including the topic of the rule of law).
  3.  Mariya Gabriel (Bulgaria) ‘Innovation and Youth' portfolio. It includes as well education, culture and research
  4. Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus) will lead the ‘Health' portfolio.
  5. Kadri Simson (Estonia) will be in charge of the ‘Energy' portfolio.
  6. Jutta Urpilainen (Finland) will take over responsibility for ‘International Partnerships'.
  7. Sylvie Goulard (France), will be in charge of the ‘Internal Market',  lead work on industrial policy and promote the Digital Single Market. She will also be responsible for the new Directorate-General for Defence Industry and Space.
  8. Margaritis Schinas (Greece) will be VP for “Protecting our European Way of Life”.
  9. László Trócsányi (Hungary) will lead the ‘Neighbourhood and Enlargement' portfolio.
  10. Phil Hogan (Ireland) will be in charge of the ‘Trade' portfolio.
  11. Paolo Gentiloni (Italy), will bein charge of the ‘Economy' portfolio.
  12. Virginijus Sinkevičius (Lithuania) will be responsible for ‘Environment and Oceans'.
  13. Nicolas Schmit (Luxembourg) will be responsible for the ‘Jobs' portfolio.
  14. Helena Dalli (Malta) will lead the ‘Equality' portfolio.
  15. Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland) of the portfolio ‘Agriculture'.
  16. Elisa Ferreira (Portugal) will lead the ‘Cohesion and Reforms' portfolio.
  17. Rovana Plumb (Romania) will be in charge of the ‘Transport' portfolio.
  18. Maros Sefcovic (Slovakia) will be in charge of “Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight”
  19. Janez Lenarčič (Slovenia) will be in charge of the ‘Crisis Management' portfolio.
  20. Ylva Johansson (Sweden) will lead the ‘Home Affairs' portfolio.

Next steps

As a next step, the European Parliament has to give its consent to the entire College of Commissioners, including the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission.

This is preceded by hearings of the Commissioners-designate in the relevant Parliamentary committees, in line with Parliament's Rules of Procedure.

Once the European Parliament has given its consent, the European Council formally appoints the European Commission, in line with Article 17(7) TEU.


Add new comment